Siirry sisältöön

Tahkoluoto offshore wind farm: main contractor of marine construction and supplier of undersea cable awarded

Wind power producer Suomen Hyötytuuli Oy has chosen Jan De Nul Group as the main contractor of marine construction for the new offshore wind farm in Pori, Finland. The cable manufacturer Prysmian Finland will supply the undersea cable. Construction of the wind farm will begin in April.  
Jan De Nul NV from Belgium, which carries out marine construction and offshore installation in the energy industry all over the world, will be responsible for dredging, seabed construction work, and the installation of foundations and wind turbines. The work will take place over the next two summer seasons.
For the first time in Finland, a four-legged jack-up vessel more than 100 metres long will be used in the installation of the wind turbines. Jan De Nul Group has worked on the Baltic Sea before, building an offshore wind farm in Kårehamn, Sweden, in 2013.
“Competence, modern technology and references were the key criteria in the selection of the main contractor for marine construction,” says Arto Huhmarkangas, Project Director, Tahkoluoto Offshore at Suomen Hyötytuuli Oy.
Approximately 14 kilometres of a 30-kilovolt undersea cable will be installed on the seabed. The cable is manufactured in Finland by Prysmian Finland.
Construction of the Tahkoluoto offshore wind farm now has five international suppliers involved in the project, Siemens, Technip, ABB, Prysmian, and Jan De Nul. The world’s first offshore wind farm designed for icy conditions will have ten 4 MW turbines that will be taken in use during the autumn of 2017.
Further information
Toni Sulameri, Managing Director, Suomen Hyötytuuli Oy, +358 50 524 9609,
Arto Huhmarkangas, Project Manager, Tahkoluoto Offshore, Suomen Hyötytuuli Oy, +358 40 489 0030,
Suomen Hyötytuuli Oy is a producer and developer of Finnish wind power with two existing wind farms, and two wind farms currently under construction. It is owned by energy companies Helen (Oy Mankala Ab), Jyväskylän Energia, Lahti Energia, Lappeenrannan Energia, Pori Energia, Tampereen Sähkölaitos, Turku Energia, and Vantaan Energia.

Leave a Reply